Hooking and processing measured data before publishing to EmonCMS

Hi,

I am new to EmonCMS and EmonHUB, got my first EmonPi box last week and have been experimenting with pulse counter, which seems to be working perfectly. Later on, I will be adding a few EmonTH temp/humidity sensors, plus a few separate, Raspberry Pi’s gathering temperature data with 18b20’s. My intention is to inject their data to EmonCMS as well.

I have a few questions about the right way to do some data processing:

The pulse count on EmonPi is working OK, and the data is published to emonCMS. No problemo.

However, in addition to publishing raw data to EmonCMS, I would like to simultaneously trigger a process for storing these measurement data pairs of timestamp/pulse count locally, and to calculate an approximation of current power usage in Watts based on the few latest measurements (say, 5 or 10 most current). This figure would then be published as “power” measurement to EmonCMS to be used in dashboards. I cannot use the clip-on current sensors.

Should this be done in EmonHub or in EmonCMS - and where and how in those?

I suppose that injecting the temperature readings from other RPi’s will be a case of simple scripting, and there are probably many examples to follow. Are there any complications to be expected?

I have also a few additional ideas about calculating the cost of electricity for dashboards. There are a few components in our electricity price. First of all, the price consists of

1. price of energy per kWh, either fixed, day/night, or hourly ELSPOT market price + margin, depending on your contract. There are even more options, since the price may vary by winter/summer and/or weekday/weekend. To make it manageable, one could (and should) make an hourly energy price table with all this taken into account, and use that for calculations.