Help understanding what to buy

Hi

I’m looking to monitor the energy usage in my house with emon. For historical reasons I have two single phase supplies into the house with two consumer units. I think what I need to buy is an emonbase and two EmonTx units with different node ids. Please correct me if this is wrong.

Can I just buy a single 100A CT clamp for each EmonTx to monitor the supply into the house and then buy additional CT clamps at a later date to monitor internal circuits?

Why do I need an emonvs unit alongside each EmonTx? This increases the cost quite a bit but I don’t understand what the benefit of an emonvs unit is?

Thanks in advance for any help. I’m a complete noob with this stuff so excuse any dumb questions.

Dave

Welcome, Dave, to the OEM forum.

Let’s get this out of the way first - we all had to start learning somewhere once upon a time, as long as you’re prepared to give it a go, you’ll find most people here are willing to share their knowledge. The second part there is there’s only one dumb question: it’s the one where you assume we know what you’re thinking and what you’re looking at. As long as you tell us what you have and what you want, you’ll be fine.

The emonVs is both a 5 V d.c. power supply to power the emonTx4, as well as a voltage reference.