Help, I am new to this

Hi Everyone,

I have read and read all the different articles. I am coder so not totally a beginner to this. However I am confused by all the hardware options.

I have a property where 3 phase comes into a consumer unit. From there there are several circuits. 7 individual feeds go to a sub-meter and then on to a room. There are several other circuits for communal areas.

My requirement is to monitor the temperature in each room (10 in total - 7 bedrooms, hallway, landing, kitchen) these rooms are spread over 2 floors. I do have cat5 going to each room.

I also need to measure the electricity on as many circuits as possible possible 10 or more.

I also need to measure the Gas supply meter if possible, not sure if thats possible ?

My goal is to get as many relevant metrics as possible to make energy saving decisions.

My current thoughts are

Emon PI

RJ45 Encapsulated DS18B20 temperature sensors
a few of the SWE2 Sensor Connection Modules for the temp sensors

On the electricity monitor I am confused. I have 3 phase power but can monitor each of the single phases going to the rooms ? do I need a reference power for that (which would be impossible due to distance). I don’t need the wireless option as everything will be housed in a room which has the consumer unit breaker and all the cat5 feeds.

Any thoughts cause I would love some feedback

Thanks

I’ll try to pick off as many points as I can.

1. You’ll want an emonPi or an emonBase to store and publish the data and/or send it onwards to emoncms.org. If you have an emonPi, you add two current/power inputs.
  2. The emonPi and emonTx are essentially a single-phase design.
  3. Do you have 7 sub-meters, and are they single or 3-phase? I’ll assume each meter & room is single phase.