Hello - a few questions regarding heat pump monitoring and emoncms

Hello,

I’m currently studying at the Centre for Alternative Technology on the Renewable Energy Masters and working part time as a renewable energy installer covering multiple technologies.

I really wish the ESP8266 heat pump monitor was available when I started my dissertation project! Very excited to see someone has developed this! I’ve built a phase change material thermal store which is integrated to my mitsubishi ecodan 5kw heat pump system. The aim of the project is to ascertain the financial and performance implications of using such a system to shift the running of the heat pump into either off-peak (or potentially time of use) tariff times or to more favorable outside air temperatures.

Once I’ve completed my dissertation I’d like to fit an ESP8266 board to my setup and would like to encourage clients for the company I work for to have them fitted as an extra. It seems like this would give us a better insight into the running conditions of the heat pumps we install. A lot of the heat pumps we install have monitoring built in but not always with the capability we would desire. Also having the same system on various different heat pumps gives a level playing field which may give some unbiased insight into performance.

Ive got a few questions regarding the monitoring and the capability of the dashboards, sorry if they are answered elsewhere, I’m still reading through the documentation.

Is it possible for an installer to view all the heat pumps they have installed with monitoring in one portal or would a separate login be needed for each install? If not is there a way of giving the client their login and have the data bounced over to a separate installer dashboard - possibly a collection of dashboards with various client installs?

Is there a way of setting up alerts or notifications if specific events happen? For example, if daily COP drops below 2 or brine return temp drops below 0°C?