Hardware Requirements

Hi,
Absolute noob here.
Just want to check that I have suitable hardware -
I have a couple of Raspberry Pi B+ and some Arduino Uno and Mega boards lying around. Can I make do with these or do I have to get the emonpi shield etc?

Initially I would like to measure and log the consumption of each phase of my 3 phase home supply. At a later stage add the solar PV too and all the other fun stuff.

Regards
Paul

I should add I am quite handy with a soldering iron and have the CT’s, resistors etc.

I think you can use what you have, but from anecdotal evidence, you’re likely not to get the best performance - i.e. you’ll probably (not necessarily) have a higher noise floor, meaning that your ability to measure low powers will be limited.

You’ll need to make an analogue front end for your Arduino - this is where minimum wire lengths and attention to earthing etc is vital, because you’ll be dealing with millivolt signals in the presence of digital switching noise from the Arduino. You can either copy the circuit from the emonTx or look at the illustrations in the ‘Learn’ section.

If you do see high “noise power” when there’s nothing there, the first thing to check is the quality of the power supply you’re using for the Arduino. There’s evidence that the on-board linear regulator generally does a better job than external 5 V supplies.

There’s a 3-phase sketch available for both 3&4-wire systems:
Update to 3-Phase PLL sketch - #15 by Robert.Wall

That’s going to run in your Uno. I don’t know about the Mega, you are likely to need to make some minor changes, but not being an Arduino expert, I can’t say what those might be.

You’ll need to set it to give a serial output, and send that to your Pi B+. Details are here:
https://wiki.openenergymonitor.org/index.php/EmonTx_V3.4#Direct_connection_emonTx_V3_.3E_Raspberry_Pi_GPIO