Going Nuts Trying To Upload Code - What Am I Missing?

Hi, I’m new to this so please be gentle.

I’m actually trying to complete a Mk2PVRouter, which after completion will get at least one, maybe two eMon set-ups alongside to provide the monitoring. It’s a version with five output boards, which will scoop up 10kWp of solar PV and share it among three immersion heaters, some towel rails and other stuff. Hence the reason for building the router first and putting the monitoring on afterwards.

The Arduino on the board is ATMega328p (which according to the tech sheet is supposed to come with boot loader already installed). All is set up, continuity checked, voltages in the correct places, chips the correct way around, etc. Every pin on the processor has a zero ohm track to where it’s supposed to go. I’ve not popped the processor - I practiced safe installation on an anti-static surface with my earth strap on my wrist. I’m confident I’ve done nothing wrong.

Problem is … I can’t upload any code to it, not even the simplest of demo software. The connection to the board is okay but I get variations of the following error message every time.

I thought maybe the connection was too fast but no - serial parameters are set at 9600 baud, 8/1 bits, no parity, no flow control. I’ve even tried it at slower speed. No joy.

Please tell me, what am I doing wrong?

Cheers, Ian

avrdude: Version 6.3-20190619
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Joerg Wunsch
System wide configuration file is “C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware\tools\avr/etc/avrdude.conf”

Using Port                    : COM4
     Using Programmer              : arduino
     Overriding Baud Rate          : 115200

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 1 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x1e
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x1e
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 3 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x30