Getting started with a Raspberry Pi 2b and TXV4

Hello,
I am brand new to all this and have just installed my hardware to monitor my houses energy consumption. Alas I’ve got stuck…

I have a used an old Raspberry Pi 2b, since I had it lying around and wanted to save money. This maybe where I have gone wrong, but it boots very happily with the latest image on a new SD card so I feel it should work…

The Pi is connect via USB to a brand new TXV4 interface which has current clamps around cables, one temp sensor, and a brand new emonVS powers everything.

There is no WiFi on the 2b so it has always been connected by Ethernet cable to my router from day one.

I follow the “get started” instructions, all good until I got to look for “Inputs”. Nothing there. I tried turning the USB C connector around and rebooting but nothing is appearing.

What is going on? Has anyone else used a Pi 2b successfully? Why can’t the Pi see the TXV4 automatically? How do I debug this?

Thank you for your help,
Matt

Welcome.

Good to know the image works on a 2b!

This issue is probably the USB port it is using. emonHub is the tool we use to bring the data in from the outside (look at the Docs for more info). The USB Port is not usually used.

The first place to look is the emonHub Log. Click restart and see what error messages you get.

You may need to click on Edit Config

And change debug level to DEBUG.

You probably need to follow This Doc which is found from here for the OEM Interfacer and add an entry for that interfacer.

Will @Matthew_Lee need to ‘fix’ the Pi’s USB port with an entry in Udev rules as described in the section “Assigning the Programmer’s Port (Linux Only)” in FTDI Programmer — OpenEnergyMonitor 0.0.1 documentation

The ID for the emonTx V4 is 10c4:ea60 and the rule:
SUBSYSTEM=="tty", ATTRS{idVendor}=="10c4", ATTRS{idProduct}=="ea60", SYMLINK+="FTDI", MODE="0666"

No, I think that is only to flash the TX not to receive data. @TrystanLea

When I get the time I’ll check.