Feeds stopped working after emoncms upgrade

Hi, I had the same problem after upgrading emoncms 8.4.0 to 9.9.5 and php 5.4 to 7.0.
I got similar errors in the error_log every time emoncms tried to process my energy impulses to power and kwh.
In Modules/process/process_model.php the line:
if (!($timezone === NULL)) $this->timezone = $timezone;
did not work (with php7?)
The fix was to change it to:
if (!isset($timezone)) $this->timezone = $timezone;

Hi @martmaiste, I split this as it looks like you might have found an issue.

Can I ask how long ago you found this?

@TrystanLea @glyn.hudson @Gwil, my PHP is no where near good enough to be able to comment. A quick check on the GitHub organisation shows this test is used a couple of times. Google did not throw it up as a known issue.

Hi, @borpin, about an hour before posting this. Just upgraded my emoncms and php version yesterday. I’m no php expert either, but php documentation says:
$a === $b Identical TRUE if $a is equal to $b, and they are of the same type.(PHP: Comparison Operators - Manual)
and
The special NULL value represents a variable with no value. NULL is the only possible value of type null.
Perhaps the type for $timezone is not null then.

Ok thanks. As I said my PHP isn’t good enough to know what the implications are. What led you to that solution?

Could you confirm the php version please?

The exact error message was:

PHP Fatal error:  Uncaught Exception: DateTimeZone::__construct(): Unknown or bad timezone (2) in /var/www/emoncms/Modules/process/process_processlist.php:1575
Stack trace:
#0 /var/www/emoncms/Modules/process/process_processlist.php(1575): DateTimeZone->__construct('2')
#1 /var/www/emoncms/Modules/process/process_processlist.php(1097): Process_ProcessList->getstartday(1548345861)
#2 /var/www/emoncms/Modules/process/process_model.php(71): Process_ProcessList->whinc_to_kwhd('42', 1548345861, 471, Array, Object(Process))