Esp8266 power energy monitor & time scheduler

BACKGROUND
I have always been conscious of our energy usage at home and the Geyser Timer was a project that I had been contemplating for several years but never had the time to get seriously involved, and when the Covid Lockdown started I thought this was the ideal opportunity to start developing the project in earnest.

Note: I live in South Africa and a Geyser is the equivalent of a Boiler.

UNDER THE HOOD
The hardware took several design iterations to baseline. There was also a significant amount of time spent on writing code and error checking to try and make the code “bullet proof”.

Initially the idea was just to switch the geyser ON/OFF using a scheduler but as the project developed I thought it would be neat to added a power monitoring circuit as well, this added a whole new dimension of what could be done…

The design is based on the ESP-12F WiFi platform and using the Blynk App to manage your schedule and actively monitor your power consumption. The design uses a 32mm wide Din Rail Housing that can be easily wired up into your Distribution Board.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION

Operating Voltage 110 - 230VAC 50Hz
Isolation AC-DC converter PSU
Relay contact rating 30Amp
Power consumption accuracy within 5% (Subject to calibration accuracy and using a fixed 230V in the calculations)
WiFi Connectivity
F-RAM (Nonvolatile Ferroelectric RAM) for data storage (100 Trillion Read/Write Cycles)

USES

Geyser Timer Schedule
Power Consumption Monitoring and Utility Billing on a your own property or a guest house or condo
Pool Timer
Under Floor Heating Schedule controller
Any device that requires an Intelligent Timer

BUILD YOUR OWN

Blank boards or Built up units are available if you are interested in supporting my project. The design is complex, you will need a certain level of skill in Electronics and be familiar with writing code using the Arduino IDE and using Blynk

BASIC FUNCTIONS