ESP8266 Dev Kit - pulse counter

Have a ESP8266 and want to connect the OpenEnergy pulse counter to it and use the board to count the pulses and output it somewhere (initially just blink the onboard LED).

Seems easiest to use the Arduino IDE for the board.

But what do I change in the emonESP sketch to pick up the pulse counter and output the readings? Can only see the CT’s being read in the currently unless I have missed something (total noob to Arduino coding).

Also do I connect the pulse counter to the ADC pin or can I use any GPIO pin?

Thanks

Simon

The pulse counter output is a pulse of fixed amplitude, therefore you’ll need to use a digital, not an analogue, I/O pin.

There are two ways of counting pulses, and we’ve used both in the emonTx. The first is “Interrupt-driven”, where an input pin is configured to trigger a software interrupt. The Interrupt Service Routine then (typically) counts the interrupts and makes that number available to the main loop of the sketch.
The emonTx sketch “emonTxV3_4_DiscreteSampling” does this.

The second method is ‘Polled’, which is where the main loop interrogates the input pin at regular intervals, and counts the pulses it sees.
The sketch here does this and includes switch de-bouncing software, which you should not need with the optical sensor (but you would with a mechanical switch).

Many thanks Robert.

Do I just load this sketch (and update the GPIO reference) and it should work?

Cheers

Simon

Until I look at the ESP sketch, I can’t tell you! But what either sketch does should be reasonably clear (if not, ask) so you probably need to lift the working bits out of whichever and plant them into the ESP sketch - or vice versa.

The sketch on GitHub emonTxFirmware/emontx3_emonesp.ino at master · openenergymonitor/emonTxFirmware · GitHub