Error running /home/pi/emonpi/service-runner-update.sh

I have recently updated my EmonCMS to 10.5.6 (from 10.1.1) and am trying to get the automatic configuration ‘service-runner’ operational. I’m running Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS on Azure. I had a few problems that didn’t take long to nut out but this one has me. When I run an update from the admin menu I get the above error. Naturally, this is not running on a Pi. I’ve searched around and can’t find where the above path is configured or can I find a file “service-runner-update.sh”. Can anyone give me a pointer on how to correct this?

The other issue is I can’t add or edit existing users. I’m an admin and have tested that my changing the admin flag in the DB from 1 to 0 and back but no luck. Is there a parameter elsewhere I should update

TIA

/Tony

Hello @Tony_Glynn Have you set the user, following the non-raspbian setup instructions here emoncms/scripts/services/install-service-runner-update.md at master · emoncms/emoncms · GitHub?

Do you see the users listed under Admin > Users?

Hi Trystan,

Yes - sudo systemctl edit service-runner.service? I’ve tried with both a blank “User=” and using a normal account. Its curious that the error

LAST ENTRIES ON THE LOG FILE
Error running [/home/pi/emonpi/service-runner-update.sh emoncms emonpi]Exception occurred: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/pi/emonpi/service-runner-update.sh': '/home/pi/emonpi/service-runner-update.sh'

Includes “emonpi” as a component to update.

I can see users in admin/users view but only have “view” buttons.

Hello @Tony_Glynn

You need to have the EmonScripts repository installed in /opt/openenergymonitor, emoncms will then detect it’s presence and update using the newer update system.

That is correct, you can add new users by adding:

enable_multi_user = true

in the [interface] section of settings.ini.

This will then show the register option on the login page.

You can then edit the users by logging in to each user individually.