Enhancing setup

Hi all,

I’ve been running an emonTx and emonBase for around 18 months and I’m really pleased with it so I’d like to develop our setup further by including some sub-metering for the various DBs around the property. I was hoping someone could validate/critique my plan, please :slight_smile:

The current emonTx is connected to the incoming 3ph supply which then, via Henley blocks, feeds 2x 3-phase boards and 2x single-phase boards. Whilst the boards are not all in the same place, the wiring from the Henley blocks to the isolators for each board are all together, so it makes sense for me to implement all my metering here, rather than at the remote board locations.

Q1: Should I retain the existing emonTx on the incoming supply or repurpose it for one of the 3ph boards? I like the idea of retaining it as checksum for the incoming supply, but it could easily be calculated by adding the inputs from the various boards together in Emoncms. What is best practice?

Q2: Depending on what I decide to do with the existing emonTx (1), I will need either one or two additional emonTx devices for the 3-phase boards, which will need the 3-phase firmware – I have a USB/UART programmer.

Q3: Is there any reason why I can’t use a single emonTx for the 2x single-phase boards?

Q4: As I’ll have 3 or 4 emonTx devices, I’ll need to change the channels via the firmware.

Is there anything else I could have missed?

Many thanks!

Agreed.

You’ll never get the numbers to add up exactly, and I wouldn’t say one method is better or worse than another. But what follows has a bearing on this too: