EmonTx shows inactive on Emoncms

Hello,

I have two EmonTx devices (named tx17 and tx18) installed and feeding to one EmonBase - they used to work intermittently, often losing signal and creating new random feeds, with tx17 more consistent and tx18 often becoming inactive for long periods of time. After doing some changes which involved relocating the devices (making the two tx not as close to each other, and putting the base in the same room), the tx17 has had no issues and is collecting data perfectly every 30s, however, the tx18 has been inactive. The device is connected and the little light is flashing as normal.

I have followed the “Configuration” guidance, changing the node ID with the DIP switch as advised but that didn’t do anything. I am also a novice in all of this and so haven’t done anything different to what the guidance documents indicate, so I am not sure what to do.

Thank you for your help!

Welcome, Romane, to the OEM forum.

Which version of emonTx do you have? And what software version are they using?

Did you power down the emonTx after changing the DIP switch? The switch setting is only read once, at power-up, so unless you restarted the sketch, it would not know the switch had been changed.

Hi Robert, thank you!

They are EmonTx v4 - in terms of the software version, I am not sure, how do you see it without admin access (my colleague who has the admin account is on leave currently). We haven’t changed anything to the default settings since we bought and set up the devices in January 2023, I don’t know if that helps.

In terms of powering down, we had to remove the power to open the device and change the switch so I assumed that would be enough, is there a further manipulation I should do that is not unplugging the power and plugging it back?

No, this should have been enough.