EmonTX 3.4 Circuit Design Questions

Hi all,

I am fairly new to electronics/hardware and have a few questions to further my understanding of how the emonTx works at the circuit level. The schematic I am looking at, from the emontx github, is below for reference.

1. Each input for CTs 1-3 has two 22 Ohm burden resistors placed in parallel. Is this to account for power dissipation ratings of the resistors or is it perhaps to help accuracy or noise of the voltage signal in some way?

2. The ADC inputs for the CTs and the AC-AC adaptor all have diodes which, if I understand correctly, are to protect the ADC by providing a path to ground if the voltage rises above the diode breakdown voltage. Are the 1K resistors (R-19,20,25,26,28) placed before each ADC in order to prevent a short circuit in case of this breakdown or do they serve another purpose? And under normal operation, can we assume that the ADC inputs draw little enough current such that the voltage drop these resistors would introduce is negligible for measurement purposes?

3. Why do we need cap C17 on the AC voltage measurement section? I know theoretically that a capacitor acts like a short-circuit when an instantaneous voltage change is applied, and in this case we are expecting AC input, so the voltage is fluctuating consistently. Does this mean we assume that C17 acts mostly like a short-circuit?

4. The Power sections notes “for AC-DC circuit 20mA max”. What sets this limit? Is that the max draw from the MCP1754 LDO?

Any tips/explanations are very much appreciated! Thanks!

I’ll have a crack at the first two: