emonTH - Arduino IDE - 'showString' was not declared in this scope

EmonTH2 - Firmware updating
Please can someone help?
PS - I’m new to Linux (i.e. installed it yesterday), Arduino’s, IDE’s, git & scripting, so this has been one hell of a learning curve.

I’ve eventually got to the stage of installing the Arduino IDE on Ubuntu 20.10 following the instructions on this website under the Guides section:

• Installing the Arduino IDE – Ubuntu Linux

• Installing the Arduino Libraries – Ubuntu Linux

and have attempted to ‘verify’ the latest emonTH2 firmware (v3.2.4) but get the error:

• ‘showString’ was not declared in this scope

Please do not ask me to use PlatformIO because I have just wasted 2 half days following the guide on here and using the PlatformIO documentation without success. I never got the VSCode extension working, though I did manage to get the PIO cli to work, but gave up when i got dependency errors with ‘@c057b5f4c0’ & ‘@c5ce0922ef’.

I had searched the Community posts and eventually found this & it looks like a newer emonth2 firmware has been created but not uploaded to git, see here:
Emon devices factory testing transmissions of “zero values” Hardware

Is the answer to use the attached zip file EmonTH_V2-(V3.2.5) in that post?

I’d never do that. It’s malware in my book. It’s not fit for purpose. When I tried it, it moved directories and files without a by-your-leave, and it cost me hours (like you) to put it back to rights.

And that’s been left out of the code BECAUSE OF PLATFORMIO - as I understand it. Utter stupidity doesn’t describe it.

People claim it’s improved, that wouldn’t be hard. Publishing it as it was was grossly irresponsible. I suggest you send it to the bit bucket like I did and forever after use the Arduino IDE instead. (Couples very nicely with NP++ as an external editor.)