emonPi usage in Canada

This isn’t a question, but some observations that other North American emonPi users might find useful.

I’m a newbie emonPi user, but I have a long electrical, electronic, Linux, and software development background, going back decades. I have been looking for an energy monitoring system due to an ongoing dispute with my electrical provider, and the emonPi looked like the best fit for me. Most of the other systems I looked at wanted to upload my personal usage data to “the cloud”, with no mention of backups, who has access to it and what else it will be used for.

So I purchased a emonPi a month or so ago, with two YHDC SCT013 CT’s and a 120VAC to 9VAC adapter, and received it about 2 weeks ago. I proceeded to install it, and I discovered that the CT’s wouldn’t fit around my main feeds to my electrical panel (240V). The wires are 4/0 copper with sheathing with a diameter of 16 or 17 mm (more if the cable is curved) and the CT opening is only 13mm. Yes, I should have checked out my panel out before ordering, but I didn’t.

I knew from viewing your forum, that other CTs could be used in a situation like this. As a temporary measure, I installed one SCT013 CT on the neutral feed, which was small enough in diameter to accept it. I reasoned that since most of electrical appliances in my house ran on 120VAC, except for my water pump and clothes dryer which use 240VAC, this would show most of my usage as I explored the rest of the emonPi system.

For a week or so, everything worked as planned. I figured out how to set up feeds, use the graphs and visualizations, and explored the dashboard and apps. I figured out that my old, large deep freezer in my basement was my major electricity user, my septic pump was working hard as the snow melted here in northern Canada, and the ground became saturated with water.