EmonPi (RPI3B+) not connecting to wifi

I know there have been posts before on similar issue, but I created this because they seem to be RPI 2B. I just procured an EmonPI solar PV bundle, which is specified to be a 3B+.

I am not able to connect to my home wifi. The emonpi boots just fine, and is able to find the correct SSID (I see this by being connected via ethernet cable). But it does not seem to be able to connect anyway, even if I have typed in and verified the correct password. Both SSID and PW consist of regular letters and numbers.

I am fairly new to RPI (and Linux) world. Can anyone point in the right direction, or even better, a step-by-step description on how to solve this problem?

Hi, can I check, you are seeing this information on the WiFi config page?

What error are you getting?

Have you tried to reboot your WiFi router?

Hi, yes I can see all the right info on the wifi config page. It lists all the SSIDs I expect. But at very low signal strength, which is weird. It lists -81 to -85dB, while my mobile lists full connection and -45dB at the exact same spot. Which is same room as the wifi AP, about 3m from (nothing between).

I donā€™t get any error message. The config page pop-up says ā€œwait 60sā€ after I have typed the pw and clicked save. Then nothing. And it does not respond to the refresh button.

No, I have not tried rebooting the wifi. No other users had any problems, so it didnā€™t occur to me. I will try that tonight.

Larger negative number, in this case, means a better signal.

Firstly there does seem something odd with the WiFi but that may be unrelated.

Click on ā€˜logoutā€™ - what do you see?

First: How do you include quotes in this forumā€¦?