emonHP hardware limitations? Use Home Assistant? Units errors or missing?

Hi all, I’m still new to HP monitoring but getting there. I have a couple of linked questions.

1. Why is there little or no hardware guide to EmoHP compared to the other hardware offerings?
    Faced with hardware limitations needing to read additional inputs such as temperatures, I have been finding how to do this with the ‘Emoncms History’ and now, for exporting, the ‘Emoncms’ integrations for Home Assistant. i.e. by editing the HA ‘configuration.yaml’ file.
  2. Using the ‘Emoncms’ integration I’m trying to read the ‘total_electric_Energy’ feed in HA. I can see values coming in but can’t seem to get these into a HA energy dashboards because the units are not in kWh. They seem to be in W or undefined. I have tried lots of things in HA mainly under the ‘State’ definition menu but am getting nowhere.
    Has anybody else tried this and better still found out how?

The emonHP heat pump monitor is a fully pre-provisioned managed system i.e everything should be plug-and-play out of the box, and if it’s not please contact us, and we will resolve any issues. For this reason, there’s not the need for detailed step-by-step setup documentation.

The emonHP runs the same emonSD software stack as the emonPi2 / emonBase, therefore out other documentation will be relevant if needed.

The total_electric_Energy Feed should be total accumulated kWh. Please share the relevant section of your HA configuration.yaml and some screenshots. We’ll do our best to help, but this sounds like a HA issue rather than Emoncms. It sounds like you need to setup a HA Utility Meter helper to convert accumulated kWh to kWh/day

Thanks Glyn, This could be a ‘penny drop’ moment for me. I’ll soldier on for a bit as it will help me up my learning curve. Will share configuration.yaml file if I have problems.