EmonGLCD sketch issues

Hi

Just spent this evening assembling an EmonGLCD, having noticed it now supports the EmonPi.
I’ve gone to EmonGLCD/firmware at master · openenergymonitor/EmonGLCD · GitHub and found that the links to rtclib, glcdlib and maxim temp sensor libraries are broken. I assume I need all these libraries “seen” by Arduion IDE before I can compile and upload a sketch to the Arduino.

Also is there a recommended version of Arduino IDE to use and any other tips to make either the tester sketch or the main “HomeEnergyMonitor” sketch compile and upload? I’ve got very little experience with Arduino - mostly updating Marlin firmware on 3D printers which seemed to need an older version of Arduino IDE in many cases!

Also, should the backlight work when first powering up the emonGLCD, even if there is no sketch on the Arduino? My backlight is not lighting up at this point (LCD screen yet to be soldered in place).

Cheers

I don’t know of a reason why the latest IDE won’t work, there have been changes that made some sketches fail, but if that happens, post again with the details. I’ve just recompiled the tester sketch and there’s one warning for a redefined pin, but it still compiled, loaded and worked. The install instructions in ‘Learn’ for the Arduino IDE lists and tells how and where to put all the libraries that you need, including the ones for the GLCD. I’m not aware that those are out of date, but some might be.

The test sketch for the GLCD that’s mentioned in the assembly instructions does control the backlight. The backlight won’t work without a sketch, because it’s on a PWM output that controls the brightness.

DO NOT solder the LCD in place until you’re sure the pcb is assembled correctly and works. If you don’t keep all the legs making good contact, it can hang and you need to restart the sketch. That can easily confuse you (it did me, the first time).

I never realised there was an Arduino guide in the “Learn” section of this site!