Emergency mode - can I recover? Now solved

Hi,

If anyone can answer any one of the questions I would appreciate it.

Thanks.

I have been using EmonSD with EmonTx happily for just over a year until a mains power failure. It now gives the ‘Welcome to emergency mode!’ message and asks me to enter the root password or Control-D to continue. Control-D just loops giving the same message. After a Google search it seems there is no root password so I think I am stuck. :frowning: Is there a way for me to try and recover so I can run fsck or investigate further? Please note I am a Linux noob.

I started from emonSD-22Dec2015.img but I did a full upgrade about a week ago which seemed to take me up to the latest low-write version of V9.7.7 I did a backup at that point but failed to pull it off the Pi - bother!

The only other Linux device I have is another Pi so I could mount the failed image in a USB adaptor to make changes/additions.

I have been sending all my data to Emoncms.org but I don’t know if I can pull the data back to create a local copy if I started with a fresh emonSD as I can’t find anyone else asking the same question.

In summary:

1. Is there a root password?
  2. Can I add a root user to get past the failure point - if so how?
  3. Can I pull off my local data from the failed card (assuming that isn’t the file which has been corrupted)?
  4. Can I restore my local data from EmonCMS.org?
  5. Any better (polite!) suggestions?

Many thanks.

Hello @Jonno

There is no root password as the root account is disabled by default in raspbian. I would try mounting the SD card using a USB adaptor on a computer, If you search “Windows ext2” there are quite a few guides on how to mount linux partitions on windows, its been a long time since I last used them however to comment on which program is best.