Ds18s20 not recognised by EmonTX

Hi,

I have a problem with my EmonTX3, (HW3.45). I connected a ds18b20, but it can’t find it. Temp enabled via serial port (t0 1), and can read the address of the ds18b20 (0x10, 0x1B, 0x2A, 0x88, 0x00, 0x08, 0x00, 0xAE) with an adruino, and this ino can see too: emontx2/emontx_lowpower_temperature.ino at master · openenergymonitor/emontx2 · GitHub

Please, help me, what can I do?

That first byte in the UID (0x10) tells you it’s a DS18S20 rather than a DS18B20 (I fixed the title of this thread for you). A DS18B20 has 0x28 in that byte.

Anything built on the standard Arduino Dallas temp sensors stuff supports a bunch of similar sensors:

Stuff using EmonLibCM requires it to be precisely a DS18B20 (i.e. 0x28):

If you’re handy with C programming and the tools, I don’t think it would be too difficult to add in support for both.

1 Like

@Robert.Wall @TrystanLea, could we support other sensors?

Thanks your quick reply. Unfortunately i am not a programmer, so I have to buy some ds18b20 (ds18s20 was in my stock).

I was asking that question of the 2 people I tagged! However, it won’t happen immediately.

Oh Sorry, Brian, I only read the first answer, a can wait the experts answer. many thanks your support.

1 Like

Hello @Zippair would you happy to try making a modification to the code to see if you can get it to work? It may just be a matter of removing the line @dBC highlighted above? But you would also need to compile and upload the code. The device type was likely hard coded here for DS18B20SIG to avoid other potential incompatibilities… It might be more hassle than it’s worth for you to explore this so feel free if you prefer to switch the sensors for DS18B20’s.

I dont know enough about the different type of one wire sensor variants and implications of expanding the available list to comment at this point so it would need to a bit of investigation and testing to see if this is something that could be expanded.