Doing business with openenrgymonitor hard and software

Hello guys,

As a former independent consultant i wonder if there is a plan or model in place to earn money with selling your hard and software to customers other than selling the installation, training and/or customisations.

Willem Luijk

The founders of OpenEnergyMonitor, @glyn.hudson & @TrystanLea are best placed to answer that.

Im really interested in this topic too, as an engineer the licensing topic has been giving me a headache for months but I keep trying to understand it, I have been looking as many others behind me for a way to build a sustainable business model around the OEM project, hopefully I can get a confirmation about what i think i understand from the OEM project in this thread

I might not be the most ideal to attempt to answer this but i’ll give it a shot hoping glyn or trystan edit my post if i missed or misunderstood something,

I believe this question can be answered (mostly) by the Open Source Hardware (OSHW) Statement of Principles 1.0, GPL and APGL licenses used widely in the OEM project

I am no lawyer but if i am not wrong, you can do almost anything you want with anything on the OEM project including starting a business with your own brand as long as:

1.- You share and comment (like they do) any kind of change to the code
2.- You add the same license (AGPLv3) to your self hosted emoncms
3.- You don’t sell commercial licenses of emoncms (AGPLv3)
4.- You don’t make them (OEM) responsible for anything that goes wrong with the software/hardware
5.- You don’t actually claim any kind of warranties (since most of the work are sold as DIY kits)
6.- You don’t use their Logos on your business
7.- If you somehow manage to get a patent, by using part of their work you do not attempt to sue anyone in any way involved with the project