Discovering what kind of CT clamp I have and what the readings are

Hello. Newbie here. I am trying to use these CT clamps from a broken Home Energy Meter – Aeotec system. (The clamps are not broken, but the base zwave unit is.)

According to their docs, I have the 200A clamps (based on dimensions). I have no idea how many turns there are inside the clamp and their documentation doesn’t say either. Nor do I know the step-down ratio of the clamp (docs don’t say this either). Taking apart one of the clamps, there are 2, 1N4761A Zener Diodes soldered together from each wire lead, before exiting the clamp.

I’ve exposed the 3 wires from a power strip, and clamped around one of them. Using a hair dryer, I multimeter’d the two wires coming from the clamp. I got 2.5V at max dryer usage (high/hot air). The dryer says 1825W 125V 60Hz on the handle. My multimeter says I have 120V (USA).

I have several questions. 1) Do the diodes function as burden resistors, or do I still need to put a resistor between the clamp leads? 2) The reading of 2.5V with the hair dryer on means what exactly? Can I infer anything or am I still missing some critical piece of information (like A->A ratio / turns ratio)? 3) If I can measure the amps the dryer is using, does that correlate to the 2.5V reading and help determine anything?

Welcome, @jackt, to the OEM forum.

I think what you have there is a genuine current transformer, and its output will be a current, not a voltage. What makes me think this is the presence of the zener diodes. There are there for safety - without them, a c.t. will try its best to drive the current it wants to output into an infinitely high resistance load, which implies an infinitely high voltage. The danger is obvious, and the zener diodes clamp the voltage to a safe level - if 75 V can be considered ‘safe’. They should do nothing in normal use.