CT coils on Bus Bar

Hi, I have been running an emontx and emonbase since 2017. I monitor the electricity consumption in two circuits max 200amp and pv generation 49kw. It is a 3 phase installation and I have been monitoring only one phase, and assuming that phases are reasonably balanced and multiplying recorded figures by a factor of 3. On one of the circuits I monitor I have placed the CT coil on the bus bar as shown on the attached. The CT coil would not physically fit over the two bars so installed it on one only. My assumption in this instance is that the two conductors are identical dimensions and have the same electrical properties and that any current running through these conductors will be split 50/50. I multiply this current by a factor of 6 to estimate the full 3 phase load. I am now wanting more accurate power measurement in order to control loads (using node-red and MQTT) using excess pv generated electricity. I am intending to install another 2 emontx’s and measure all and sum phases. The long and the short of this long question is will the placing of the single CT coil over the single conductor (of the two) as shown in the picture result in a significant error in the recorded values?

IF (big ‘if’) your initial assumption that the two halves of the busbar are identical, therefore the current shares equally, then multiplying by two will be accurate to within better that the other factors in the system. There will be a very small error due to the adjacent conductor, but as it isn’t right next to the secondary winding, the effect is tiny.

But why not get a split-core c.t. that will go over the whole busbar? If the secondary isn’t 50 mA, it’s not hard to change the burden inside the emonTx to suit. There’s a list of c.t’s that we know about on the “Use in N.America” page in ‘Learn’, though admittedly they are more expensive than the YHDC one, they’re generally better too.

Hi,