CT clamp/feed problem

Hello,

I have an emonpi that I’ve been using happily for many years. Recently, I had to unplug it to do some work in the understairs cupboard where it lives. When I plugged back in, the CT clamp that is reading the solar now gives a constant output of around 50W when it’s dark (i.e. when there’s nothing coming off the panels), so is messing up my solar feed. It also seems to give a constant reading of around 530W during daylight (i.e. when there’s anything at all coming off the panels). I’m in the UK, so obviously I don’t expect much at this time of year :smiley:

I recently switched to Octopus Agile (incoming and outgoing), and the outgoing has started as of 4th Jan (yesterday), so not sure if that would be affecting things. Obviously a smart meter was fitted to allow this, but after the engineers had been in, there didn’t seem to be any change to the readings being sent to the EmonPi. I’ve confirmed that it’s the clamp itself by plugging it into the other socket. I’ve also confirmed that the feed drops to 0W when the clamp is removed from the wire.

Could it be that there’s something up with the clamp itself? To be clear, the clamp itself was not removed from the cable during the work I did, only from the EmonPi itself.

It would be good to get this fixed, as I’ve got readings going back many years, and now they’re not right!

Thanks in advance

It’s not clear what the timeline is. You unplugged the emonPi to work around it, then some time later had your meter swapped. When was it known good, and when did the problem arise?

Do you have an a.c. adapter, and was the c.t. and a.c. adapter plugged in (and the adapter switched on) when you powered up the emonPi?

Do you have a Grid c.t, and can you put both on the same cable to compare?
Or can you put the Solar c.t. on the meter tail and compare the reading against the new meter? (You might have to get the power by calculation from the rate of meter flashes.)