Complete Beginner

Hi,

Yesterday I was handed a Pi, an SD Card and an RPICT3T1
(RPICT3T1 - lechacal)

I’ve connected the RPICT3T1 to the Pi, imaged the SD with EmonPI and got it all started up and connected to the web interface.

I just need a few pointers as to how to get EmonPI to see the inputs for the CT Clamps on the RPICT3T1.

Thanks

Mark.

Welcome, Mark, to the OEM forum.

Does this imply it’s work? :wink:

Most of us here use the emonPi - which isn’t what you have. The emonPi is hardware - a Raspberry Pi with our own analogue “emon” front end, effectively a 2-channel emonTx, and a display all in an aluminium case. The custom software, written in PHP, is in two parts: emonHub handles the serial data input and emonCMS does the data processing, databases and web page generation. Both those plus the operating system comes as a download image to write to the SD card with (say) Balena Etcher, or you can buy the SD card ready flashed.

This page http://lechacal.com/wiki/index.php?title=Raspberrypi_Current_and_Temperature_Sensor_Adaptor says that the Hat you have sends its data via the serial port of the RPi, which is exactly the same as the true emonPi. Therefore, if your RPICT3T1 is doing as it should, the data will automatically appear on the Inputs page of emonCMS.

I know nothing about your RPICT3T1, but my guess is, it either isn’t sending anything at all, or it’s sending it at the wrong baud rate, or you haven’t copied the configuration for your RPICT3T1 into the emonhub.conf file. This is immediately beneath the heading “Emoncms Config (Emonhub)” [It’s not Emoncms Config.] If there is already a Node 11 (Identified by **[[11]]**0, delete it. You can edit emonhub.conf directly in emonCMS using your web browser (Setup →Emonhub →Edit config).

Is the anything in the emonhub log indicating that data is being received? (Setup →Emonhub →View log). You should see new data appear every 10 s or so - depending of course on the software inside your RPICT3T1.