Can I Use This For MQTT?

Hi Community,

Pretty green here but will be thankful if anyone could assist!

TL;DR:
I have what looks like the RFM69CW which comes presoldered onto the emonpi. Can I use this to send out LWRF messages from MQTT so I can control some LWRF light switches?

I’ve checked the config and there appears to be a device:

[interfacers]
### This interfacer manages the RFM12Pi/RFM69Pi/emonPi module
[[RFM2Pi]]
Type = EmonHubJeeInterfacer
[[[init_settings]]]
com_port = /dev/ttyAMA0

To me, this just looks like it’s to be used for communicating with other Emon devices…

But I’m a complete nub so won’t pretend to know what I’m looking at. I’m not a total wimp either. I managed to get through the OpenHAB3 documentation, which isn’t really geared up for a complete novice yet, but maybe that’s just me!

So right now I have emonSD-24Jul20 (Stable) running and OpenHAB3 configured showing the power feed on a webpage using MQTT.

Having both lost our jobs, my partner and I are about to leave on a work visa into EU 4 months on conservation work and I’d like to get the lights to come on and off whilst we’re away to make the home look occupied. We can’t afford any slip ups. We’re burning through our savings fast.

I have a couple of LWRF switches to install from ebay…

Welcome, Dave, to the OEM forum.

The short answer is “possibly”.

I found this “The LWRF system operates on 433 MHz and uses simple On/Off Keying (OOK) modulation…”

The RFM69CW is certainly capable of that, but using it assumes that you’re not going to be receiving data from other OEM sensing nodes, like the emonTx or emonTH.