Calculating Battery Charge

Hi.

I have a Sofar battery inverter and 2 x 2.4kWh Pylontech batteries attached. It uses the Solarman website for monitoring via an inbuilt IGEN Tech datalogger.

While the Sofar website advertises API access, in reality the IGEN Tech people have ignored my emails and been no help. So I bought an emonTx to monitor the inputs and outputs instead. That works great!

The only metric I’m really missing is the battery charge level.

Can anyone suggest a way of creating a feed that keeps track of the charge level by simply measuring how much energy goes in and out of the battery and adding or subtracting it from a running total?

Or any other ideas for communicating with the battery?

Thanks is advance.

Hi Colin, welcome to OEM.

I have had some passing experience with solarman and the igen hardware. It is essentially a dedicated modbus master hardwired to read and format fairly “universal” data and then post it to the solarman web portal 9and make it available locally via an api). The few encounters I’ve had have been with PV inverters and I’ve basically binned the igen hardware and communicated with the inverters directly. The “universal” solarman implementation (incl the igen hw) is claimed to be compatible with all (or at least most) inverters, chargers and some other hardware too, I believe this is due to it using the “sunspec” alliance protocols.

Certainly in the cases I’ve mentioned above I simply read the modbus registers directly using the sunspec alliance documentation albeit in all but one case, supplied by the inverter manufacturers.

I’m certainly no expert in the SunSpec alliance side of things but despite not being a gambling man, I might have a small wager on your battery inverter being sunspec “compatible” purely because the solarman’s IGEN can communicate with it.