ASHP Performance & Installation

Afternoon all,

This is my first post so play nice.

I am a Building Services engineer working on my MSc dissertation on retrofitting air source heat pumps in domestic properties and would like to know wheather anyone would be kind enough to share some information on their installation and ASHP performance that i can use within my report. Any information used would remain anonymous and shall primarily be used for comparison purposes against energy assessment software and benchmark information.

To date, i have conducted my research from scientific papers, field studies and industry guidance however yet to hear from a consumers perspective or view annual recorded energy data for a heat pump retrofit. My research has led to suggest that manufacturer claimed SCOP differ from actual seasonal performance factors representing a gap between predicted energy consumption and actual. We as engineers use benchmark data to estimate building energy loads which in some cases the predicted energy consumption differs considerably from the actual energy consumption found post-completion, also known as the performance gap.This can lead to oversizing plant and equipment in developments which unfortunately increases capital, running and replacement costs to building owners. Therefore i am keen to understand the actual consumption along with any challenges faced during or post completion of the retrofit including costs of the installation.

I am specifically looking into air-water heat pumps for a semi-detached/detached 3/4 bedroom properties and would be keen to understand the following:

1. Age, size and construction of existing property i.e. brick & block with cavity, timber frame, solid walls etc. Type of hydronic system i.e. surface single, double, triple convector radiators or underfloor heating and whether this was part of the installation or predated.