Using emonPi to operate a room heater from surplus pv

Forgive such a seemingly stupid question, but here goes anyway…!

I’m looking to add an emonPi to my house with the initially idea of linking to Emoncms to plot solar pv production and energy consumption. The question is could a simplified version of the OpenEVSE be used to do the same utilisation to a 2kw electric heater (room heater, not an immersion heater), I already have solar thermal and my ev is out during the day most of the time. I’m after a relatively step less sequence of adjustment. Is the OpenEVSE quiet in operation as it does it’s job?

My interest is for my own use.

Electronics is a new area, household electrics and engineering are my background, but despite my years I’m a Newbie here, please be gentle.

Thanks.

Welcome to the OEM forum, Graeme.

I suppose the reference to an immersion heater means that you’ve studied the section in ‘Learn’ about the PV diverters. The appeal of the immersion heater is that it’s generally usable in the summer too, whereas room heating is, well, not quite as necessary then (hopefully). But there’s no reason not to do both - I think Robin Emley has a sketch (if not a published one) that would do that - I think it was for a storage heater (or heaters) and immersion heater, but it uses his own hardware, not an emonPi.

I’ll leave it to somebody who knows EVSE to comment on its suitability.

And don’t worry about being new - we all were, once upon a time.

Thanks Robert,