Unable to access MQTT Mosquitto Server

I am new to alot of this software so I apologize in advance if I am missing something simple. I have had no issue accessing NodeRED or OpenHab when searching my IP followed by :1880 or :8080, but when trying to access MQTT by using port:1883 my browser reads, “This site can’t be reached”. I have the pre-build emonPi SD installed so that shouldn’t be the issue. I am connected through WiFi and on the emonPi display it says MQTT is connected. I have also been struggling to connect the emonPi to NodeRED via MQTT, which I think is tied to this issue as well. Any help would be appreciated.

That is not how MQTT works. It does not have a web interface. Bit like SSH uses port 22.

What are you trying to do?

That makes a lot of sense. I am just struggling to get the emonpi to connect on NodeRED. In emoncms I have the process “edit to MQTT” with the text being:

emon/emonpi/power1

This is the third order after “log to feed” and “power to kwh”. In NodeRED I have the MQTT input block:

Broker: localhost: 1883
Topic: emon/emonpi/power1

I just have this connected to a Debug block right now to get the data to show, but when I deploy the MQTT block fails to connect. To give you a visual of where I am going with this I am basically just trying to forward the data from the emonPi over to Amazon Web Services. Thanks again for your help.

The emon base topic is the incoming topic to EmonCMS. Use a different base topic when setting up emoncms to send out values.

You will also need to put in user and password on Node-Red as the emonpi has these set in the broker by default. They are emonpi and emonpimqtt2016 respectively.

running

mosquitto_sub -v -u 'emonpi' -P 'emonpimqtt2016' -t 'emon/#'

from the command line will show you data going into emoncms.

Change the base topic to see what is coming out.

I changed the base topic but nothing seemed to change. Do I have to change it to something in particular or could it be anything?