Some doubts about direct connection between emonTx and RaspberryPI

I’m a newbie and I’m planning the setup of my first system based on OpenEnergyMonitor.

1. I want connect the emonTx directly to the RaspberryPI via serial.
  2. I want Real Power and Irms measurements by sampling the AC waveform. This implies making use of an AC-AC 9V power adapter.

The first doubt is whether connecting the emonTx directly to the RaspberryPI via serial, is equivalent to the case of using RF in terms of quantities measured and sent to emoncms (power, Vrms, etc ). I hope yes.

The second doubt is whether powering emonTx through RaspberryPI’s 5V supply (removing JP2) or AC-AC 9V (JP2 inplace).
The first case should be avoided, isn’t it? (Powering Up : 1) USB to UART cable - recommended only for short periods while programming. ) or am i wrong?

In the second case I should connect only:

• ground between emonTx and RaspberryPI
  • and data going from emonTx to RaspberryPI
    is this ok?

thank you

Hi Roberto

There is no problem with running an emonTx connected via the RPi’s GRIO for both serial comms and power long term.

Yes you should remove JP2 if using a 9vac adapter for voltage reference too.

The direct serial connection is actually superior to the RF option as it is not subject to range and interference that can cause RF packets to be lost or dropped.

The power consumption of the emonTx is minimal and unlikely to put strain on the RPi or it’s power supply (unless using an undersized PSU that is already struggling)

There is even a minute chance of better accuracy as not using the AC:AC to power the emonTx means the consumption of the emonTx or more so, the rfm69cw cannot impact the monitored waveform.