Receiving JeeLib Classic and LowPowerLab in parallel

I am glad to see the new Open Energy Monitor hardware uses the LowPowerLab radio library. It is great.

I’ve been running devices with both libraries for a few years now, and I thought it might be a good time to post about how I do it.

They key is to use a Moteino USB in addition to the RFM69Pi/RFM69SPI.

Moteinos are the creation of Felix Ruso from LowPowerLab. All about Moteino | LowPowerLab

Advantages of Moteino USB over other similar devices.

• Moteino USB doesn’t need the GPIO header, which is often already occupied by the RFM69Pi/SPI.
  • Moteinos can be ordered with the RFM69CW transceiver, unlike other small Arduino-like USB devices such as Ardiuno Micro.
  • Moteinos can make additional bridges to emonHub with any of its other available transceiver options. (Including LoRa!)

The JeeNode classic looks like it would also work, but I haven’t tried it. The JeeLabs Shop - JeeLink Classic (digitalsmarties.net).

A Moteino USB can run the RFM69Pi firmware compiled for Arduino Uno boards. That firmware is available in the RFM2Pi repository. RFM2Pi/firmware/RFM69CW_RF_Demo_ATmega328/RFM69CW_RF12_Demo_ATmega328/src at master · openenergymonitor/RFM2Pi (github.com)

It boils down to two steps.

1. Use the Arduino IDE to flash the Moteino USB with this firmware.

2. Add the following entry to emonHub (emonCMS > Setup > emonHub > Edit Config) in the [interfacers] section in addition to the [[RFM2Pi]] entry.

[[MoteinoUSB]]
  Type = EmonHubJeeInterfacer
  [[[init_settings]]]
    com_port = /dev/ttyUSB0
    com_baud = 38400
  [[[runtimesettings]]]
    pubchannels = ToEmonCMS,
    subchannels = ToRFM12,

Note that ttyUSB0 is typical for me, but your mileage may vary if you have other USB devices attached to your emonBase/emonPi.

I’ve also flipped this around and used the Moteino to listen to the LowPowerLab-based radios, while an RFM69Pi listens to the JeeLibClassic radios. I’ll post about that soon.

2 Likes