Raspberry Pi + emonSD + Arduino?

Hi all, noob here. Some basic questions that show my ignorance on the hardware side.

First of all, I’m from the US, so I’m looking to see if I can reconstruct the proper hardware without the high prices of buying and shipping from the UK which is really what drives my question.

I see the emonPi contains a case, lcd screen, raspberry pi 3, along with a shield to interface with the CT’s and AC-AC adapter. What is the proper name for the shield? Is that the emonPi or is there a technical name for it?

What I’m looking to do is just buy the raspberry pi 3 on amazon over here which I can get for roughly 23 pounds. I’ll also snag an 8GB SD card for put the OS on.

So what is it that the shield (or whatever it’s technical name is) does? I see it’s got an Atmega328 on it. Does that do the ADC sampling from the CT’s and then TX/RX it over to the Pi? Anything else other than that?

I’m interested to know if I could just use an arduino in its place. I’ve got a few Uno’s lying around and a Zero. Personally I’d love to use the Zero for it’s higher quality ADC. Or shoot, can I just hook a CT up to an ADC and interface that with the Pi and have the Pi read via an SPI?

My overall goal is to get a somewhat easy, not super customized hardware setup since I’m mostly focused on pulling the data from emonCMS or possibly locally and doing stuff with that data. Since I’m a little low on cash, straight up ordering an emonPi to roll out of the box isn’t ideal. Possible, just not ideal.

Thanks all in advance for any advice!

The “Shield” is, to all intents and purposes, an emonTx V3 but with only two current input channels. It communicates serially with the RPi, receives by radio data from other emonTxs or emonTHs. So if you look at what the emonTx does, it does the same. (And before somebody takes issue with that, the emonTx can receive, but normally it doesn’t.)