Pi vs Tx for complete beginner

Hi all.
Can I have some opinions please.
I’d like to monitor my heat pump set up.
The Consumer Unit and main incoming supply is not conveniently placed near to the heat pump so I think I’ll just settle for putting a CT clamp on the Live cable for the heat pump and connect a temperature sensor each to the HP flow, HP return and outside.
I have zero knowledge of coding, apart from being able to get python to say “Hello world”.
I am thinking that the EmonPi will be the simplest solution as it has a display that might help a complete novice get to work. And it looks like the TX won’t be avaialble for some time due to semiconductor shortage.
I don’t mind paying a bit more to avoid frustration and several hours/days/weeks of trying to figure it out. But someone could convince me to spend less if they think someone like me could figure out the TX.
Does this sound sensible?
Thanks!
D.

Welcome, David, to the OEM forum.

I’m afraid it’s not exactly an either/or – emonTx or emonPi. The problem with an emonTx is, what are you going to do with the data?

From what you’ve written, there are three choices:

1. An emonTx plus Wi-Fi adapter, sending data to the on-line emoncms.org
  2. An emonTx plus Wi-Fi adapter, sending data to your own server running emonCMS.
  3. An emonPi running its own emonCMS.

The emonPi’s display is useful, but it doesn’t really help a great deal. It’s not intended for continuous use (the backlight times out, though that could be changed). Your main display will always be via a web browser.

We’re expecting the new emonTx V4 to be available later this summer. We don’t yet know the details of what it will finally have, nor a price.