New setup with Emonpi and 2 EmonTX

Hi All,

We have moved our consumer unit and is more practical to now purchase an emonpi.

Firstly, I’m not a programmer, I struggle to understand many of the terms or how to program a RPi. With that in mind, this is the setup I was thinking of. I would be grateful for any feedback, positive as well as negative or alternate ideas.

Emonpi as the hub(?) no CTs
EmonTX with 3 CT clamps (solar, grid & spare for battery bank later on).
EmonTX in our loft with 3 CTs for individual solar inverters (sounds odd I know but we have three. - this is to monitor each one individually.

The first EmonTX would be next to the Emonpi, my thinking is that I can have three CT clamps on one device?

Welcome to the OEM forum, Tristen.

If you buy an emonPi, you’re also buying two power channels. Are you ever going to use them? If there’s a possibility that you will, fair enough. If not, the emonBase is more economical, but it doesn’t come in the nice aluminium case. You use the same SD card as the emonPi, so not much do do there.

(Unfortunately, there just isn’t room on the emonPi’s box for a third c.t.)

Other than that, the two emonTx’s sounds entirely reasonable. You’re in the UK, so a single phase supply, so again nothing much needs doing with the emonTx’s. One will need an internal switch moving to give it a different identity (NodeID) so that you can tell them apart (and the shop might do that if you ask), other than that, it’s plug them in and it should all work. You’ll probably need to learn a bit about emonCMS so that you can display what you need how you like it, but that’s something you’ll pick up as you go along.

Thank you!
You already answered another question about the nodeID. If I did decide to get the Emonpi, would all three need different IDs?

CT Sensors, I’m not sure how long the leads are, but are they ok to extend?
Was a bit gutted that the Emonpi couldn’t take a third one, but you can’t have everything.