Modifying/uploading code to emonTX

Greetings,

Total newb to programming, just a couple questions.

Took me most of the day to figure out how to open the code in platformIO, but was finally able to see where I’m supposed to change things in order to use the 200A SCT-019 current sensors (in the src file). I changed power1 and power2 to 3 as directed and also modified VRMS from .01 to .011, since emoncms was reporting low values.

I hit compile and it ran correctly, spitting out a fresh firmware.hex file which I moved to a new folder so I know where it’s at. Is that the only file I need to burn to the emonTX via the USB>UART dongle, or am I beyond my depth here lol?

This is what is looks like now, I’ll have a pair of SCT-019’s on CT1 and CT2 and I changed VRMS to correct for a low reading in emoncms.

Welcome to the forum, Nickolas.

I don’t use Platformio. I know it’s recommended here, but as far as I’m concerned, it’s malware because it totally screwed up my system. And almost worse, every single sketch seems to have to be called src.ino, so when you have four or five totally different sketches open in your editor, it’s extremely hard to know which is which. If you’d like to use the tried and tested Arduino IDE, then once you’ve installed the libraries, I find it very quick and easy.
FULL instructions are in the ‘Learn’ section, Learn→Electricity Monitoring→Using the Arduino IDE

There’s a problem with what you’ve done there: You’ve changed the example of what the configuration inside emonHub (in your emonPi - if you have one) should look like. You haven’t actually changed the source code itself. Everything between /* and */ is a comment - and not part of the code itself. Equally, everything on the same line after // is also a comment.