Large deployments

Hi there.

We are working on a project to monitor the power in an entire datacenter (around 300 cabinets) and I’m looking into the emonTx for that (installed on the top of the cabinet). I have no experience with devices working at the 433MHz frequency. Will it be a problem to have a very large number of devices using this frequency at the same location?

The datacenter has multiple rooms and we’d deploy different wireless bases for each one, but even so the number os devices connected to each base would be around 50 or so.

Any advice is welcome, thanks.

Luis

You are going to struggle with having that many RF nodes. For starters there are only 30 unique node id’s available on each network group, and even if you have multiple network groups, they will still cause congestion as each packet needs to be received before it can be processed or discarded as it belongs to a different group.

If you could use 2 different frequencies in the same room, eg 433MHz and 868MHz (said without knowledge of whats allowed in your locality) you might be able to get all ~50 recognized in theory, but unless you synchronize the transmissions you will still get clashes that result in data lost unless you slow the transmissions right down and keep them short.

And, the other rooms (and other electronics) may cause further interference.

In reality the RFM is best for a small number of nodes, perhaps a maximum of 10, I’ve noticed data loss with just 3 emonTx’s when @10s updates and that’s without any other nearby groups to cause further issues.

I would recommend using some FDTI adapters and connect them by usb (in batches using hubs) to a emonBase Pi per room, additional expense I know, but money well spent considering you will get greater granularity updates, no data lost and no time debugging and messing with RF issues.

1 Like

Thanks!