I'm new to this please be gentle, RS485 query

Hi all, please be nice, I’m struggling to find help to get some RS485 data transmitted
In the long run I want to monitor all my electric usage against my PV generation
My first issue before I even start is adding a battery system, I know you are all saying “this is not the right place” but hold on my battery system need to be with my PV array at the bottom of my garden, but the smart meter Autometers DDSD285 using RS485 is in my house. So here is my issue I need to get the RS485 traffic between the 2 places, I do have fibre and can transfer the data over IP, how hard can that be? I thought…
Well I bought myself IP two RS485 converters to act as client server 1-port RS485 to Ethernet Converters | Ethernet to RS485 Converters | RS485 to TCP IP Converters
Just plug them in and it will just work? Nope, I’m stuck!
Well the 2 devices talk to each other but no traffic passes, maybe I have the settings wrong? It is set both sides to be 9600 8 bit parity even stop bits 1 client is with the meter server is with my battery system.
Have I gone down a mad route or have I just got it spectacularly wrong in setup?
Thanks for any help in advance…
Adrian

Welcome, Adrian, to the OEM forum.

First, a disclaimer: I don’t know anything about these units - I’ve never used one or anything like it. And I’m not a networking expert either. But I’m writing as a retired applications and system engineer.

There’s something missing from that sentence, or there are too many verbs. I take it the RS485 is facing “outwards”, and the Ethernet connects the two modules. Don’t forget I only know what you’ve written about your set-up.

Is one giving the other the correct IP address - or are they competing? i.e. does each one know who’s in charge of the Ethernet link? How do you know the two talk to each other?

If you use something else on the Ethernet side, can you talk to the RS485 equipment at either end separately?