Community
OpenEnergyMonitor

OpenEnergyMonitor Community

Home Assistant Emoncms Addon

Hey All,

Just wanted to share the first version of the Emoncms addon that I’ve created.

I don’t actively use Emoncms but wanted to learn how to make an addon for Home Assistant so it seemed like a good candidate to try and have there.

Happy to hear your feedback and comment on what’s missing or should be there!

4 Likes

I think this is a great idea. How close to a ‘production’ release do you think?

Hopefully a bit closer now that I’ve merged @inverse’s emoncms cli pull request :slight_smile: look forward to testing this too.

Interesting, how is this integration different to the existing HA Emoncms module? I’ve been using this HA add-on module for a few years now, it’s simple but works very well.

Totally different.

@glyn.hudson what you are referring to is the integration which is the thing that easily gets data out of Emoncms into HA.

This add-on is a complete instance of Emoncms, being run inside a container within the Home Assistant Supervisor. It is a one click install. No OS to manage and other dependencies are satisfied by other add-ons (such as MQTT, an SQL database etc).

I’ve not looked into it in detail so not sure if Redis is part of the build.

For anyone that wants a simple way to get started and use it in conjunction with other things (such as Node-Red) it is actually a really good solution.

HA has a great snapshot function so regular backups are easily made.

My reservation is that @inverse is simply doing this as he wanted to experiment with creating an add-on so I’d worry about long term support unless you guys took it on.

If using on a Pi and wanting to use the RFM card, there would need to be a little development to get the serial data in (not impossible) or you could just use an alternative RFM receiver and use the RTL_443 add-on (probably - not tested yet).