Help transferring feed data to emonCMS V10 after disk crash (resolved)

Hi there,

Hoping the community might be able to provide some advice. First the (long) backstory…

I’ve been running Emoncms since 2014, originally on a Pi 1 running Wheezy, which was later migrated to a Pi 2 running Jessie. This was was a ‘full-fat’ manual installation and I had kept it mostly up-to-date with developments including migrating to the emon-pi version of emonHub. At the time of the incident it was running Emoncms 9.9.6.

Unfortunately the disk developed bad sectors and trashed the volume. I managed to image it using ddrescue, although even with multiple passes numerous sectors could not be recovered. After writing the image to another disk, I ran fsck multiple times to repair the hundreds of errors, eventually resulting in a filesystem that would mount. I decided to return the disk to the Pi to see if it would boot, which it did, and after reinstalling Apache and PHP Emoncms was up and running although damaged. After downloading and replacing the Dashboard module I was able to confirm that the Time Store data appeared intact.

I have built a new instance of Emoncms 10 in a Linux container running on Proxmox, using the standard build script. RF is handled by a Jeelink USB passed through to the container and is working nicely. I would now like to try and transfer the feed data from the old instance to the new, but do not trust the damaged installation enough to use it as a complete backup source. For instance, packetgen.myd is missing from the database and I don’t know what else is affected.

What is the best option for transferring the feed data manually without a database backup? There are around 30 phpfina and phpfiwa stores in total…

• I can presumably recreate the feeds in the new instance with the same IDs, and then copy the phpfina and phpfiwa stores across and fix the rights, however are there any things to consider with the low-write version?