emonPi Use in USA

Hi,

First let me say thanks for an awesome product (EmonPi) and all the information in the guides, etc.

I am pretty new to Arduino and RaspberryPi in general so bear with me if that’s OK.

So I received a complete EmonPi system yesterday and I managed to set it up, power it up and connect it to an appliance AC power cord line I’d like to monitor. I currently get a power and voltage measurement but as I am in the USA I get an incorrect reading out of the box. I red all the thread about USA use but it’s more about house setup and usage. I don’t want to measure a whole house power, just measure the power used by an appliance (I’m tapping the power cord for the current probe), for an industrial/professional application.

I am trying to figure out how to change the .ino file and upload it to my EmonPi. I am a bit of a loss here. I know how to program a separate arduino board but can’t figure out how to program the EmonPi.

Do I need the programmer and open the EmonPi enclosure to reprogram?

This instruction is in the wiki. .hex file upload command: $ avrdude -v -c arduino -p ATMEGA328P -P /dev/ttyAMA0 -b 115200 -U flash:w:sketch_name.hex

I just have no idea how to use this. Can’t I just connect via the USB cable and program with the default arduino software (working in Windows 7) with the .ino file I found on github here? I seem way off here…

I will also want to speed up the reading to at least one per second (or faster?) and be able to read the power, current and voltage data on USB, Ethernet or wifi directly from a custom application that will reside on a separate PC.

Any guidance or direction on how to start by changing and reprogramming the .ino file to work properly for the USA on a single appliance would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.