Getting started! Looking to self monitor multiple circuits

I live in the United States and, after my last electric bill, I’m looking to monitor my electricity consumption. I have 200 amp service and an additional 100 amp sub panel I recently installed. I would like to gather good metrics on what rooms/appliances(furnace,ac,stove)/circuits are pulling wha and tune my families usage from there. I’ll say there are up to 40 circuits/breakers I would like to monitor (24 in the main panel and up to 20 in the sub panel).

I was looking at a couple units on Amazon but I’m a Linux admin and like open source much better. I like the idea of modifying what I need and having the control to monitor what I want.

I have enough electrical experience to feel comfortable modifying my panel to do wiring (although I always have to resort to Google when wiring 3 or 4-way switches! Haha), but I lack the electrical engineering knowledge when it comes to specifics listed in the getting started guides without some guidance.

I’ve read somethings on here about using multiple Tx units reporting to a central EmonPi, but how many can you hook up? Is it like Voltron? (the more you hook up the better it gets lol)

I appreciate any guidance anyone can offer. Thanks!

Cheers,

Matt

Welcome aboard, Matt.

If you’re talking about the emonTx and the RFM radio modules on the 433 MHz band:
Definitely not a case of the more the merrier, because they use only one wireless channel so there’s competition and the possibility of collisions. There’s a limit of 30 in the software library that we use, and the practical limit will probably be a lot less than that. Unfortunately, the number you can have before the lost messages becomes a problem has never been quantified, as it depends on the frequency and length of the messages.