Community
OpenEnergyMonitor

Community

emonTx v2 not passing data to nanodeRF or emonGLCD

(chris_cronin) #1

Suddenly after 7 years my data was not being posted to emocms.org.
The green LED of the emonTx flashes every 10s as is usual.
The nanodeRF (emonbase) used to show a flashing red LED when all was working but now the red LED doesn’t flash & the green LED is permanently ON indicating that the void setup() hasn’t finished.
The serial output I get is:

[webClient]
Failed to access Ethernet controller

Looking at the sketch even with the above ‘Failed to access Ethernet controller’ the setup should complete & the green LED should turn OFF (notice the comment “Nanode RF LED indictor setup - green flashing means good - red on for a long time means bad!
High means off since NanodeRF tri-state buffer inverts signal”.

I’ve changed the RFM12 on both the emonTx & the nanodeRF but problem remains

Keep it simple as I’m not a coder
Thanks

(Robert Wall) #2

You don’t mention which sketch you’re using, I’m looking at NanodeRF_multinode.ino and “Failed to access Ethernet controller” is printed when the Ethernet controller, the ENC28J60, doesn’t return the correct response - it should be the version number - to being initialised.

Assuming you’ve checked (or substituted) the power supply, and because it appears that the Atmel 328P is working, I think it means that the ENC28J60 has failed. I can’t be absolutely certain - if a DIL Atmel 328P is available, it might be worth swapping it and reloading the sketch just in case it is the processor.

(Bill Thomson) #3

Looks like there’s no shortage of 328 DIPs available. A Google search turns up quite a few sources.
e.g. SparkFun, Mouser, Digikey as well as the manufacturer themselves, Microchip.

UK sources include Farnell, RS and Hobbytronics

(chris_cronin) #4

The sketch I’m running is NanodeRF_Power_RTCrelay_GLCDtemp

Just placed an order for an ENC28J60; I’ll keep you posted on the outcome