emonTx Shield currents are not zero when they should be

Hi there, I finally got my emonTx shield up and running and its producing currents and power for all 4 CTs, passing the data via serial to the RPi running emonHub.

However, even without the CTs having wires inserted I am receiving measurements of around 0.2-0.4 Amperes, while they should be zero. The CTS are of course closed. Is this normal? Being an electrical engineer I think I do understand the calibration procedure for (close to) full load, however, I am worried that there might be an offset at zero load. 0.4 A is not nothing.

Is there a way of calibrating the current offset to zero? Thanks for any help with this.

As you no doubt appreciate, what you’re looking at is most likely noise. If you’re only looking at current, the maths of the rms calculation rectifies the noise, there’s no averaging as such, so it appears as a reading. When you add an a.c. adapter and the calculation switches to real power, there’s no rectification and you’ll almost certainly find that the noise real power is a lot lower than the equivalent apparent power which you’re seeing.

There’s no built-in calibration for an offset to remove the noise, you could of course add that facility to the sketch, or if you’re using emonCMS, you can subtract a fixed value there.

Thanks, that makes sense. Below is a screenshot of the values. The first 4 values are the Irms (caused by noise) of each of the 4 CTs, the next four are the real power values (caused by noise), and the last one is the voltage of the AC adapter. The whole situation is still without wires inserted. Its clear that the noise values for power (around 5W) are in terms of percentage much lower than the noise values for current.

I shall see how I can best remove the noise.