Emonpi.local access not available until reboot. Happened after install emonTH V2 (?)

My emonPi has been running fine and allowing local access either via its IP address or emonpi.local.

Yesterday I added a emonTH V2 temp node and all worked well initially.

Later last night local access suddenly was not available, although it is sending data ok to emoncms.org.

I rebooted the emonPi and it has been on for just under 1 day, and now I cannot access locally again, but emoncms.org works.

Any ideas of what to try? Does it just seem a co-incidence that it is after setting up a new emonTH?

I installed a fresh image of the software about a week ago using a spare 16GB microSD card. Does anyone think it could be a faulty microsSD card? - maybe buy a brand new one?

UI and SSH?

So emonhub was still running.

Have you looked at the emoncms logs?

UI (I am a novice here!)

Yes - the system must have still been running to supply data to emoncms.org

I don’t know what to look for in the logs. Any help / hints appreciated. I can post here if you let me know what details to post. (again, I am a novice! - sorry).

Nothing to be sorry about - we all were once (just some quite a bit of time ago :laughing:)

Start with this - but just go to the ‘I’m connected’ part. emonSD Download — OpenEnergyMonitor 0.0.1 documentation

Once connected we can take it from there.

I can now ssh into the emonPi

1 Like

Is the UI responsive?

Yes. ssh active and new UI window works fine too (at the moment!!)

Ok, so wait until the UI stops. If the SSH is still OK that helps to narrow down the issue.

Meantime edit the settings.ini file.

nano /var/www/emoncms/settings.ini

and set the log level = 1 (INFO will give you what you need I hope).

CTL-X to exit the nano editor.

When posting code or bash output, please put in 3 ‘backticks’ (found at the top left of the keyboard normally) on a line on their own, then the code, then 3 more backticks on a line following the code.

```
    code
    ```