Calculating the actual use in W out of pulse count

Hello

First of all, thank you for this wonderful device and excuse me. I’m new in the emon topic.
I’d like to know if it is possible, to calculate the actual use in W out of the time difference of two pulse counts and how it is programmed as a emocms process. I’m grateful for any advice!

Thank you very much! Markus

Welcome, Markus, to the OEM forum.

In general terms - it is not possible to do it accurately over a short time period - because a pulse is history, it only happens when a specified quantum of energy has passed through the meter. Power comes from the pulse rate, so at best, you only know the average rate (the power) between the intervals when the pulse count is reported. For that reason, we always prefer to measure current and calculate power directly, then you can integrate power over time and compare that with the pulse count and calibrate the power accurately. Over a long period, an hour or a day, then the problem is much easier - but you still have only the average power over the period.

Yes, of course! Your’re absolutely right. So I need 3 current sensors for my 3 conductors. My device only has 2 inputs for 2 sensors. How do I extend them, that I can attach three of them?

What is “My device”?

Oh yes! Sorry and thank you for your patience!
I have the emonPi energy monitor: emonPi Energy Monitor - Shop | OpenEnergyMonitor

Unfortunately, you cannot add an extra channel to the emonPi, nor can you measure power on two phases using the emonPi (it cannot run the 3-phase sketch - it is designed specifically for a single-phase system).

You can add an emonTx running the 3-phase sketch - that will give you a measure of the power and energy on each of your three phases, which the emonPi will record.