Analog input (0-10V / 4-20 mA) with emonPi or emonTx

Hi everybody,

I am looking for the simpliest way to measure solar radiation using an emonPi or an emonTx (I use them for other measurements).
I already own a solar radiation sensor (Tritec Spektron 320), which :

• has got 4 possible signal outputs: 0-10 V, 0-3.125 V, 0-150 mV, and 4-20 mA
  • requires a 5-30 Vdc or 12-30 Vdc supply voltage (depending on the chosen signal output)

In the second hand, I would also ideally like to connect the sensor through a wireless connection, as it is installed outdoor on the roof of a building (wired connection is strongly complicated).

I guess there are many ways to reach my 2 goals (1- getting signal and 2- through wireless connection), but as I am a newbie in electronics and IT (and sadly don’t have much time to learn because of professionnals activities) I really need to find the simpliest way to succeed…

Thanks a lot for your precious help !

Neither emonPi nor emonTx have a built-in connection for an analogue d.c. voltage. One is present on the RJ45 connector, but using it will mean you need to modify the sketches (and that’s slightly harder in the emonPi because updates will ordinarily restore the sketch back to the default). But if you get over that problem - it’s possible but you need to remember a different procedure each time you update your emonPi, it is probably the simplest. You don’t have the same problem with updating the emonTx - that is completely under your control.