£200 to spend - where should I start

I have a long-service award of £200 coming my way and want to spend it here!

Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to get started. I’m an electronic engineer who can programme and use Linux so I can handle the trickier stuff (I hope!).

I have:

1. Solar PV on the roof with no current ability to use any surplus energy from it.
  2. An electric car that I’d love to charge on surplus power.
  3. An immersion heater that could be used for surplus energy (and a transformer to lower the power to 750W so I can use smaller surpluses).

Now, I could get a EmonTx, EmonBase, EVSE car charger, relay (for my immersion heater) and so on but £200 won’t buy all that.

So, does anyone have any recommendations on the best way to start my system for £200 ish? I would even quite enjoy a bit of self-build if that’s what you thought best! I could then grow the system in the future if Santa Claus wants to bring me some more bits.

Many thanks,

Dave

1 Like
  1. Just change your usage patterns? Change the mindset. Cheaper than any device. :slight_smile:

I say this because you might struggle to get options 2 and 3 for £200.

1. Smart EV charging like Zappi? (only charge when generating etc) But that is £500.
    https://myenergi.uk/product/zappi/

Although you might be able to scrape back 75% of costs through govt subsidy.

1. Solar iBoost? approx £300
    Solar iBoost+ - UK's Favourite PV Immersion Controller
    https://www.cclcomponents.com/marlec-solar-iboost-solar-immersion-heater-control

Again, scrapes off spare solar and sends to your heater.

Obviously, the final option is invest in an emonPi so that you can monitor input and output that can help with option 1. But i’m not sure you’ll recoup that £200 in savings. I think that would be a tough ask. But you will have some nice shiny graphs to look at. :smile:

Options 2 and 3 would likely yield more benefit (and savings) in the longer term.

Hope this helps.

1 Like